Conference awards for the Mountain West Conference dropped today. Let’s see how the Broncos did!

Mountain West Coach of the Year

The first announcement was that Coach Avalos was named Coach of the Year. This is actually kind of unfathomable that he is the first Boise State coach to win the honor since joining the conference. You would think that Pete would have merited consideration after having a team ranked #3 in the nation in 2011, conference champions in 2012…or Harsin in 2014 in a Fiesta Bowl year…even the 2017 or 2019 championship seasons. But, I digress! Fair or not, it’s never happened…until now! Congratulations to Coach Avalos!

Mountain West Freshman of the Year

The ascension of Taylen Green is something that is truly spectacular. It’s a unique kind of player that can come in and instantly remake a whole offense with electric runs and then steadily improve to become an incredibly efficient and gifted thrower as well. For Taylen to have done what he has as a redshirt freshman is so, very impressive. He has steadily improved his game every week since taking over as the starter in game five. It’s for that reason, he was named the conference Freshman of the Year

Mountain West First

JL Skinner and John Ojukwu both very deservedly earned first team all-conference honors. It does, however, seem strange that Holani and Schramm didn’t make the first team. Especially since Holani had more all-purpose yards and TDs than Fresno’s Mims and did it in fewer games. Regardless, this is still a win for Skinner and Ojukwu. Congratulations to both of these incredible players!

Second Team and Honorable Mentions

For second team…I know. I know what you’re thinking. Scott Matlock deserved first team, defensive player of the year, and with his end zone forays, probably the Mackey Award as well. Might as well throw him into Groza consideration for his post kick rituals with Dalmas, as well! As it is, however, he made the Mountain West Conference’s Second team. Joining him are Wolfm…er…DJ Schramm, Cade Beresford, Ezekiel Noa, and the actual best running back in the conference: Mr. George Holani.

Honorable Mention was comprised of Tyreque Jones, Caleb Biggers, Taylen Green, Ashton Jeanty, and Jonah Dalmas

Congratulations to all of these hard working and dedicated student athletes! If you’re curious how the rest of the conference awards shook out, they can be viewed here.